The final instalment of the ‘Draft Divisions’ series, and its bigger than ever. The current situation is… I am winning 4-3, after being 4-1 up and cruising. The comeback is well and truly on, and it all comes down to this. Can we get the final win and force James into buying a Giants jersey, running a 5k in it, and then wearing it for week 1 of the NFL season? I really, really hope so…

Quick recap of the rules for the new guys:

We are taking it in turns to ‘host’ an episode, and the GUEST PICKS FIRST in a snake draft.
This is based on a REDRAFT league, so its just for this year.
You must draft one ROOKIE in your team.
EVERY team from the division must be represented in your team.

Lets get into the biggest draft of the series:

James selects DeAndre Hopkins, first overall.

‘It was a tough 1st pick as a few top names on this list. I broke it down by looking at positions. 2x top QB options so no need to go early here RB was a little short in depth but I didnt want to go Drake here as I’m not that sold on him. TE there is a little drop off outside Kittle but I am writing an article advising why to not take TE early as it’s not enough difference to warrant the move. So this left me with the only top tier receiver in the division who is fantasy god. Hopkins is my man.’

Texans WR DeAndre Hopkins got his nickname from a pacifier ...


Paul selects George Kittle and Kenyan Drake with his first two picks.

‘Taking a look at the division, there isn’t too many ways to get one over on the opposition here. Two very similar QBs, two very similar rookies. So I took Kittle, as he seems to be the one place I can truly gain over James. Then, I decided to take the best option available in Drake. Should have a great year leading that rush offense, and should get a fair few receptions, too.’

James selects Tyler Lockett and Mostert at 4 and 5.

‘Drake was a no brainer. Not a huge fan as mentioned but best of the group. Kittle was a surprise to a certain extent. I kinda hoped he would fall to me here but this also means more talent elsewhere to choose from. Tyler Lockett is a reliable WR1 in that Seahawks offence. Mostert was one of the best RBs when given the opportunity to play coming out of no where. He is given a lack of respect in fantasy world especially now Breida is out the door he offers amazing value and could easily be around top 10 by time season finishes.’

Paul picks Chris Carson and Robert Woods at 6 and 7.

‘I actually like Carson this year. If the hip stays strong, he should be a very good RB2 in fantasy teams, and I think the Seahawks have faith in him, which is good enough for me – they’ve hardly been as active as expected in free agency. I like Woods over Kupp this year, just. The new look offense should really benefit him, and Kupp needs to be vefficient to compete in my opinion.’

Carlos Hyde understands Chris Carson is Seahawks starting running back

James takes Cam Akers and DK Metcalf with his next two picks.

‘Robert Woods is a favourite so was gutted he went but there is similar options at this stage. Carson is a strange one, I’m a fan of his but with his injuries and fumbles I can’t see him playing 16 games. Also his hip ending injury last year is still an issue and he’s being touted as doubtful for the start of the season prompting the Hyde signing. With rookie in mind and the drop off at RB I like Cam Akers here. He’s used to running behind poor o lines and will be relied on early. D K Metcalf is possibly my favourite player from last season. He’s an absolute beast and with Lockett a headache for defences. Won me many games back end of last season’

Paul picks Cooper Kupp and Brandon Aiyuk at 10 and 11.

‘After just giving my negatives for Kupp, I picked him here. He was too good to pass up, and even as a WR2 in that offense he will score points. It is more of a WR1A/1B, but I’ve got them both so I am happy with that! I took Aiyuk as my rookie here, because I knew James had picked his, but there was the chance for him to double down and force me into Van Jefferson, so I stayed safe! Lets not forget, with Deebo out for a while, Kittle and Aiyuk could feast early on.’

James selects Russell Wilson and Christian Kirk at 12 and 13.

‘This has been the most challenging division for us to make selections. Projected scores shows not much in it with Wilson and Murray but Wilson was always the QB I wanted to take, so pleased I get to choose. I do like tried and tested over potential. Murray could easily show he is on the same tier as Wilson but until he proves it I’m taking ever consistent top 5 QB Russell Wilson. The man has carried that team for the past few years and will need to do the same again but at least he has 2 great receivers to help him.’

Christian Kirk 'frustrated' with his injuries last season but ...

Paul takes Tevin Coleman and Kyler Murray with his last two picks.

‘I was fine with Kyler or Russ, to be honest, and I am sure James was the same. The hard choice was the last flex spot, and I chose Coleman, as he should see a fair bit of action in that run heavy offense, and in a PPR league, he is fairly valuable.’

James, with the final pick of the draft and the series, takes Tyler Higbee.

‘Tyler Higbee is my final pick. I saved him till last as I knew Paul had his TE and he’s the clear 2nd choice in this division. Was TE1 over last 5 games of the season and could carry on benefiting from the RAMs 2 TE sets that they adopted 2nd half of the season. Thanks to Rich Cooling @DynastyIsland for this advice haha.’

Lets have a recap of the teams:

Pauls team:

QB – Kyler Murray 298.98
RB – Kenyan Drake 241.3
RB – Chris Carson 233.6
WR – Robert Woods 237.6
WR – Cooper Kupp 238.4
TE – George Kittle 251.3
Flex – Brandon Aiyuk 161.6
Flex – Tevin Coleman 150.4
Overall: 1813.18

James’ team:

QB – Russell Wilson 306.86
RB – Raheem Mostert 205.1
RB – Cam Akers 155.9
WR – DeAndre Hopkins 277.2
WR – Tyler Lockett 236
TE – Tyler Higbee 171.7
FLEX – D K Metcalf 209.8
FLEX – Christian Kirk 171
Overall: 1733.56

This is the final episode of the series, so PLEASE could you drop a vote in the poll on Twitter, let us know why you’ve voted the way you did, and finally let us know if you enjoyed the series!

George Kittle Would Report on Time Even Without a New Deal ...